The reality: why people stay on benefits …

I just shouted at Chaplin. I never shout at Chaplin but I’m now stressed, angry and scared witless so  I’m taking it out on a defenceless cat. (I say defenceless but he’ll get his own back at some point.)

I’ve received a letter from Job Centre Plus telling me my claim has been suspended. That is, I’m not entitled to Jobseekers’ Allowance. Nor will I be paid by my employer until mid-March. I now have literally no income.

I would’ve been better off staying on benefits.

The letter states that Job Centre Plus is sorry I won’t be receiving benefits any more and adds, “This is because we cannot be sure that you are entitled to as much Jobseekers’ Allowance as we are paying you”.

I’ve given my adviser all the information I have regarding hours and pay – and indeed did so before I took up the offer of work. I was even told to keep signing on three days after my claim was suspended.

The letter also states, “There is no right of appeal against this decision”.

I do, though, have a form to fill in to give them more information on top of the information I have already provided.

I will now have to take out what little money I have from the bank in order to ensure I have bus fares to work … but considering I won’t be paid for six weeks, have little food, am using the emergency gas supply and now won’t pay other utility bills I can’t so far see that part-time working is worth the effort.

… I also now have to go to work and pretend none of this is constantly racing through my head.

4 thoughts on “The reality: why people stay on benefits …

  1. There are food banks for people who are hard up. If you type foodbank and the name of your town or city into google it may come up with something.

  2. I feel for you. I’ve spent the past eight days substitute teaching (which I LOVED) but won’t be paid for another month. I’m filing my federal tax return today and praying that 1. It’s enough to cover my rent and some bills and 2. I get it promptly.

    As a last resort, my parents could help me out, but they shouldn’t have to. I’m almost 37 years old, and my parents’ focus should be taking care of themselves and my grandparents.

  3. I did have a phone interview today that sounds promising, but I won’t know till next week if they want me to come in for a face-to-face interview.

Leave a Reply

